Reading used to be a hobby of mine and I devoured books as a youngster. But in my student time, I sort of lost the love of reading. Probably because of all the countless study books and case studies I had to read. This definitely sucked away my reading interest and I sort of was totally out of touch with it as I was either busy studying or enjoying my blooming social student life.

Losing the reading bug is a total shame if you ask me. Therefore, I want to push myself to read more and get back the interest I had in it. I am really determined on this goal and thought, why not adding a new type of section to my blog where I post about my latest reads. Once in a while I will share books and what I think of them. Sounds like fun, right?

For this first edition of Valerie’s Book club I will share my thoughts about The Life List by Lori Nelson Spielman.

20160612_120650

This one time, when one of my friends from Germany was visiting me she told me about this book she had brought for the journey and showed it to me. The cover looked like the well-known chicklit type of book. If there’s one type of genre I don’t like to read, it must be chicklits. Think about confessions of a shopaholic and the devil wears Prada. She assured me that it wasn’t anything like that and that I should give it a go. So when I went to Paris, I bought it, as I wanted reading material for the travel. Do I still think it’s an average chick lit? Read it below!

Summary

Brett Bohlinger comes from a wealthy family, works at the family company, has a great apartment and has a relationship. She basically has everything anybody would possibly wish for. Stability and commodity could describe her life.
Brett makes a life list as a teen in which she summarizes goals that she thinks are important to achieve when she is a grown up. As she grows up, she forgets about this list, until her mother passes away. Whenever her moms will is being read, it becomes clear that everyone in the family is getting their share of their mothers inheritance. Also Brett, but only on her mom’s condition that she completes a list of tasks: her own teenage years life list. If she doesn’t go after her old goals she wont get her share of her mothers inheritance.
This quest leads to humoristic and tough scenarios in which she, step by step, changes her life. Most of them seem, at first, like they are downgrading her. However, by all the impressions and experiences of achieving goals she learns through humility to embrace a new and happy way of living, which her mother had sort of figured out for her as she saw her daughter living a life that wasn’t really her. Brett gets to know her self by stepping out of your comfort zone by turning her life 360 degrees.

This book tells a tale about learning what’s really important in life, not settling for less than your dreams, humility and the most important lesson of all: money doesn’t make happy, its only easy and easy is not always challenging and self-fulfilling.

20160612_120929
One of the most beautiful pieces.

Yay or nay?

Not your average chicklit. That’s the first thing I’d like to share about this book. It started by judging the book by its girly cover. I thought it was going to be this predictable book but I was positively surprised. It is an easy to read book and I finished it therefore quite quickly and usually I am a real slow reader. It was a real pleasure to read from start to end and it kept me intrigued throughout all chapters. I like the writing style used, which makes the book very relatable, nothing is vague and you get a good grip on the main character. It’s a book that offers many life lessons and inspirational takes on life.

20160612_120812

When living in an era where the importance of image, outer appearance and social influences are mayorly visible this book sort of takes a step back by taking all of it away from the main character and trades it for a portion of humility.  
Sometimes in our daily routines we can forget being more grateful for what we have and to stay positive. By using topics, that are recognizable for young adults, such as : love career and friendships, the book is an eye opener for daily life struggles. For me it helped me broaden my perspective while fully enjoying the reading.

Are you reading a book at the moment? Is there anything you would recommend me?

xxx Valerie

