First of all, sorry this is going to ruin your New Years resolution if you made any about not eating that much sweets/junk food.

Second.. Who cares? 

Rocky Road is a no bake, chocolate cake with a base of biscuits. I got this recipe about 6 years ago from my oldest and best friend. She claimed: ‘you have to try this, it’s the best chocolate cake ever’. As I am not a cake-baking queen it was a big plus that it is a no bake cake. Other pro’s are that it is really easy to make and doesn’t take you longer then 15 minutes. It is also really budget friendly and serves a lot of people, so perfect for a party!

And yes, this must be my favourite chocolate cake recipe.

So are you excited to make one yourself? Here you go!

Ingredients
– 400 grams Marie biscuits
– 10 table spoons raw cacao powder
– 4 eggs
– 400 grams sugar (I prefer using caster sugar myself)
– 350 grams butter

You can additionally add mini marshmallows to it.

Confession: as the non cake baking queen that I am, I don’t exactly weigh these ingredients but use my intuition. If you have a scale in your kitchen, you can use it to be surer about the quantities.

How to?
First break all of the biscuits into small pieces. In the meantime you can melt the butter. It is recommended to do this in a pan on a low fire, however, I am not that patient so I put it in the microwave for about a minute or less (keep an eye on it!) Once the butter is melted, you put this together with the sugar, cocoa powder, and eggs in a mixing bowl. Stir the ingredients until it becomes a smooth mixture. Add the broken cookies to it and mix it. Put the biscuit/chocolate mixture into a tray and leave it in the fridge overnight. This will make the biscuits become soft and the chocolate hard. So you have to be patient to eat your Rocky Road, but its worth the wait!

20160103_144414
Enjoy making your Rocky Road!

